Connecting

dotgift1

(little green fungus gift from Tana)

Well, it’s done; the car is completely loaded and I am sooo tired; just a bit of apartment cleaning, then a long shower and packing my backpack with the computer and a few things left out for an overnight stay (either in Cleveland, or more likely, a motel closer to Chicago, to beat the returning-home-hordes after the holiday weekend. Yes, I am on the road on July 4th).

dotabaca1

dotabaca3

I loved it here at Women’s Studio Workshop; the studios, the entire atmosphere, and especially the people: Tana, Ann, Chris, Anita, all the rest of the staff and my residency-mates and both groups of interns.  They let me BE, everything I needed to be.  I’d have loved it anyways, but I simply could have been in no better place at this time in my life, in so many different ways, on so many different levels.

dotabaca4

outdoordot2

I’ll be back: not only will I absolutely re-apply, I’ll visit again after I-Park, maybe spend the night nearby.  I’m lending WSW the cool fabric-cutting machine I bought with the beater until I head back to the Midwest for the season.  I also hope to return to teach…or for any reason.

outdoordot1

dotcolor2

Working here, watching the whole place click along and comparing it to the past, and having some very fine conversations, as well as having some things basically fall into my lap, both in upstate NY and back at home through Paul, has given me a glimmer of a direction. Being at WSW has helped me begin to connect the dots.

dotdye

I am so grateful, and eager to see Paul, too.

dotgift2

(Fungus gifts from Lindsay above and from Tana below)

dotgift3

dotconnect

10 thoughts on “Connecting

  1. I am so glad you enjoyed WSW!!
    Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

    My returns over 30+ years always leave me with tranquility and content. I call it a “place to play”, how content and fabulous 🙂

    The staff – the founders are so giving, caring and sharing.
    I know well, Tana is my sister and I am her humbled understudy.

    Your work is SPECTACULAR.

  2. your work is wonderful. i’m glad you had a chance to spend time at wsw, it is truly a magical place. i’m a former intern, staff member, instructor, and fellowship artist and i look for any chance to return.
    thank you for sharing your work and your thoughts.

  3. I totally share your sentiments about WSW.. there is not a place like it and although I have been back once (from the UK) I am still dying to visit again!

    They are all fantastic + great work too!

  4. The work looks amazing, and you sound like your old self again, as opposed to that creature that took over your life since you returned from the Old Country.

    Hae fun back at home with your wee mannie.

    Moo!

  5. absolutely fantastic graceful gorgeous ethereal work. i’m blown away.

    first thot that first foto of fungus was butterfly.

    so, you be fungus woman?

Leave a Reply

