Expansion

CKs

When I mentioned to Roger that this was my favorite work on the land, he smiled and said, “I know her!” and gave me her name: Cornelia Konrads.  I immediately found her website: if you like this work, you ..MUST.. see.. it.  And…she makes books! Delicious sculptural books.  I e-mailed her and got an immediate reply, with her permission to post the link.  She’s coming back to I-Park; we will miss each other by one month. I will look forward eagerly to seeing what she does here next, that’s certain. (If you go to the site, click on ‘gallery’ – the site specific work is there, not in the site-specific link, which wasn’t functioning.  You’ll be very glad you did).

Luna3

Yes!  It’s Luna III, or one of the first two after a rough night.

collab

This piece is on its way back to Germany with Roger early tomorrow morning. He built a mini-version of his I-Park armature and together we carefully mounted one of my thinner overbeaten abaca sheets onto it. He will keep it for his own collection; and I have a four-and-a half-foot intact shed snakeskin he found in the woods.

feathers

This is a detail of a little wheeled cart with all sorts of rapidly decaying kinetic devices on it, built of scraps and found things, that sits in the big meadow.  I liked this bit, which is still functioning, spinning with a breeze, though missing a ‘blade’.

Location2

It’s been a busy busy few days, with a well-attended ‘mini open studio’ that let those of us who are staying know what to expect at ours on August 9th, a big potluck dinner, two writer residents and Roger departing, and two newly-arrived residents here tonight, whom I’ve just met briefly.  Also tonight, I finished making the final post of I-Park paper; I’ll spend the next two days casting and shaping those, then the whole studio gets reconfigured for dyeing and building. There’s a bandsaw. And, I’ve found two likely sites for my installed piece; the grouping of trees above is probably my favorite. Blahgs may get scarce again, but, as I hope you can tell, I’m loving it all.

window

4 thoughts on “Expansion

  1. her stuff is brilliant. i particularly like the book that got the same treatment as the installation pieces, pages floating away

  2. O M G — her work is amazing. And that piece of abaca on the armatage…. So here I sit, knitting leaves and drooling.

    (You may give up on Blahg, but don’t give up on wine after the bandsaw. 🙂 )

  3. Hi Melissa-
    Love this woman’s work- like Goldsworthy but a little more magic (floating snowballs). Sorry I didn’t get to see you in person but it seems like residencies are fabulous. Miss you!
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

