Sea In Sight

I bought a better desk chair. Interview finished (fun but painstaking) and sent, another web page revised, another cover letter ready for (extensive) editing, more (aiee) new opportunities have been added to the February first deadline. By then I will have been writing and editing and re-writing and re-editing for an entire month of wan grey days.

Silence is an ocean.

Speech is a river.

When the ocean is searching for you, don’t walk

into the language-river. Listen to the ocean,

and bring your talky business to an end.

Traditional words are just babbling

in that presence, and babbling

is a substitute for sight. – Jalal ad-Din Rumi

Later today, close to the ocean in Brooklyn, my beater will be turned on and running at long last!

I fancy I will be able to feel its vibrations, calling me towards the sea.

OK

so I am a bit of a dramahblahg queen today.

But I am so very weary of sitting and writing, was under a pall of a friend’s sad story – and of no sunlight for days and days – and sorely in need of good news.

When I opened the e-mail titled Your Beater,

I shouted

YEAHHH!

at the top of my lungs,

startled Paul,

scared Lupe.

Two more things to be built on its cover,

and

the bronze beauty

comes home.

One thought on “Sea In Sight

Leave a Reply

