Snowday

Though it doesn’t look like much, we had a bonafide snow day; Paul’s class was cancelled.  More snow all night and more tomorrow.  Since I did all my running around yesterday, I’m thinking: Nice.  It’s lovely coming down, though too fast and too fine to show up in photos.  But it’s there. Blizzards are much more agreeable than grey February gloom.

Something about a snow day lets me relax, buckle down and enjoy, no matter what I’m doing. I got tons done, including six class descriptions, laundry, more work on a long complilation document, several photo shoots, and I finally resolved the ‘your text is so hard to read’ problem on the web site, I think for good.  (Lots of the photos were of paper, so I could do this to improve the text). I tried this to try to respond to I-hate-video feedback, but I don’t like it, so I think there’ll be a compromise. And I added a page, and played around, too – though I’m not sure I like this, or at least not the fuzzy way it shows up on youtube:

Last but not least, I actually cooked dinner.  Snow days require good hot food. Now I’m working on a very fine bottle of red wine, blogging and not thinking about the fact that one thing snow days are not good for is retrieving beaters.

5 thoughts on “Snowday

  1. hot food! laundry! staying inside during the blizzard! all grounds for hooray. i think it’s good to have the photo gallery option, and if there is video, to make it clear that it is a video (it was too easy for me to scroll down and not realize the pictures were changing above). i actually liked the swipe to the side to change images more than the page turn effect. but maybe that’s b/c i like to wipe rain off the windshields when driving in the rain? [i found out that some people don’t…makes no sense to me.]

    hooray on making more progress on the site!!

  2. Thanks, Aimee. I slowed the video down (which is why you might not notice that it is a video) because several people said it was too fast; I got rid of the page flip because it was too ‘flashy-thingy’ and I truly dislike sites with flashing whirring motion.
    I like the slow wipe because it somehow reinforces the sense of silence, at least for me.
    I think I will either show the video controls or more likely link to a regular portfolio page of the same images. (Besides being ugly, the video controls do a bit of what the Youtube experiment does, though – you can easily pause on a frame that’s in fuzzy focus).

    It’s all a bit frustrating, but I think it’s almost, almost, almost where I want it (coupled with my limited abilities). Once my format is written in stone, then I can get to work on all the scanning and re- building the main part of the site, the galleries. (Only a few works will have these separate video pages).

  3. oh, good. i’m glad you prefer the slow swipe. a link to gallery images would work great. when i saw the 1st iteration of the video, i knew it had to be one (since i knew you wouldn’t broadcast a new page that simply had a big picture on top), but b/c it moved so unexpectedly and i saw no controls, i was stumped. good luck!!!

    :-1

Leave a Reply

