“Let Them Eat Books” – Hellen Highwater

A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Cheeseness: cheddar, swiss, pepper jack.

It’s April 1st, the windows are open, the sun is shining, the weather is utterly beautiful and supposed to reach 80 degrees today, and I am inside glued to the computer, where I have been for days (and will remain until Monday) which makes me feel like the April Fool of all time. However,

and this is all for a good, just and necessary cause.

It’s also the tenth anniversary of the annual Edible Books festival around the world; started by the late Judith Hoffberg in 2000. I was in charge of the Chicago version for its first five years, and advisor to a group who followed for another couple of years; it’s something I miss, a wonderfully absurd rite of spring. We ate in a library! These are my entries (under my own name and various pseudonyms) from 2004. (The book above, Manipesto, made of tortillas with pesto and food coloring and spiral-bound with onion, was accompanied by a petition for closed captioning on television; but is also appropriate to my current stare-at-a-box April 1st activities).

Hellen Highwater made these Basic Bindings every year from fresh-baked white bread, always accompanied by butter.  She wants me to tell you that I am also in this show which opens today in Denver. I’ve always meant to enter work into one of Abecedarian’s shows, and this is the first time I’ve had time to do it (though my entry was an older work, also circa 2004).  So, even though I am glued to this wee box, there is still some cause for fool-ish celebration here…tonight, perhaps.

4 thoughts on ““Let Them Eat Books” – Hellen Highwater

  1. i could eat all of that right now (okay, maybe not the ENTIRE cheese book). apparently, that’s all i feel like doing today now that i have food to eat.

  2. I had a very disconcerting experience with closed captioning today. It involved a car dealership, Kathy Lee Gifford, and a sex quiz. Bread would have stuck nicely in my ears. Cheese would have stuck nicely to the TV screen.

Leave a Reply

