Anomalies

I’m racing against time again, completing the prep for all summer classes, gathering the materials I’m providing for them all, making a small piece for a themed winter show that has a summer delivery deadline, shipping off another two pieces, polishing off a couple of writing projects and, as always, dealing with backed-up admin. There will be a couple of lengthy formal meeting-type days thrown in soon, too.  It’s hectic now because I lost nearly a week. The day after I arrived back from Cleveland, Paul’s birthday, I got knocked down flat, nastily sick with a respiratory infection.  I slept for 48 hours straight, and was pretty weak and out of it for the next few days as well, but that did let me finally finish the previous piece about Marilyn, since I had no energy for anything else (I left so much out, though). As soon as I was able to get moving I bought food and got all my hair chopped off, Cecile came and made beautiful iris-stem paper, I took Paul out for a belated birthday dinner, and now, alas, Paul has come down with exactly what I had (sigh).

Yesterday brought horrible news from Cleveland; old friend and highly respected artist, Jeff Chiplis (whose sweet tiny guest house I stayed in on my way back from Vermont Studio Center in 2008), was senselessly shot during a robbery attempt after the monthly Tremont Artwalk. Smith visited him yesterday, and reports that thankfully, he is out of danger, that the damage was able to be repaired, but there will be a long recovery and more surgery ahead. (Another friend reported that Jeff’s condition was upgraded from critical to critically stable late yesterday). My heart goes out to Jeff and his lovely spouse Cynthia. Somewhat ironically, Jeff’s wonderful recycled neon work was just featured at the Butler Institute of American Art; it’s beautiful, witty work that’s been featured in Art in America and shown internationally. If you have any healing energy to spare, please, please send it Jeff’s way.

Here is Smith’s page documenting Jeff’s Butler exhibition, to help you.

2 thoughts on “Anomalies

  1. Totally, utterly, without reason: I remember seeing the piece in “Art in America” and thought it was terrific (and wished I had access to whatever is required to work with neon: like I need another hobby….).

Leave a Reply

