…and quirks.

I’m not having the best of times right now; not terrible but not great either.  I’ll be on the road in one week, moving around for six weeks, and I’m way behind on what I need and want to have accomplished before I get in the car.  A large part of this is due to a lingering, very nasty cough left over from whatever hit me when returning from Cleveland that continues to deplete my energy.

But I am so pleased to say that Jeff Chiplis seems to be recovering like the champion he is.  I’ve been following along on Walking Thin Ice; Smith is covering everything thoroughly, and providing all the links to all the information; thank you, Smith.  I’m also checking Jeff’s CaringBridge site daily. It’s the second time I’ve experienced one of these.  They are absolutely great (Smith’s blog has the link).  And I really liked this from Smith: Jeff’s backstory written from a totally Cleveland viewpoint by cartoonist Derf (scroll down to ‘gunning down artists’ – though ‘RIP quicksand Jesus’ is pretty good too. I might have to start following this; have always liked his comics).  I was hoping to time my initial trip east to be able to stop and visit Jeff in the hospital, but if I can’t lose the cough, I won’t; I might be a very bad risk for him for infection at the moment.

This bit sums up how things are for me personally right now: I went out with friends on Tuesday night and had one too many excellent drinks, but got home decorously and safely in the wee hours; remembered to park on the other side of the street for street-cleaning, remembered to finish some little chores for the morning, went to bed, woke fine and refreshed, did the morning’s nitpicky work, then headed downtown for a long important meeting, remembering to collect and bring along all sorts of minutiae.  Got to the office, opened up my hearing aid case, and: It. Was. EMPTY!  So I spent three hours with my hands cupped behind my ears, reading lips, asking for multiple repeats, resorting to written notes when I just couldn’t get it, and feeling utterly stupid.  By the end, I was exhausted as if I’d been digging ditches with my fingernails for days.  Home and the hearing aids were on the passenger seat of my car, carefully wrapped in a bandana after leaving the bar. Sigh.

The reception for Listening (and Premiering Print Portfolios) is tonight; wish I could be there, even coughing and deaf.

6 thoughts on “…and quirks.

  1. Thanks, all…still coughing (drat). Thanks for going to the opening, Smith – hope it was OK. Big storms blew through here a few hours before the opening, and they were headed towards Cleveland…the winds knocked some windows out of the Sears (Willis) tower and at one of the local teevee stations.

  2. wilcox, jen lessin, lady and i stopped by the morgan conservatory to see your opening last night. good show, good turnout – i sat and watch people exclaim good things over all your pieces. congrats.

    however in the book covering the show i saw pam’s price list but none for you ???

  3. Oh, the hearing issues. No matter what we do, and think we have it altogether, they always seem to raise their ugly head. I’ve left spare batteries behind with both hearing aids and now my processors. Difference is, when mine go dead no amount of cupping my ears, or shouting on their part, will help. I’m just surprised you don’t wear your HAs all the time, like from the point you’re ready to leave the house.

Leave a Reply

