Roller Coaster Ride

What a week! Both fantastic and horrid and I am in need of serious recuperation.

Monday, after writing the last blog, I got almost finished on a proposal that was due to be postmarked on Thursday, only leaving a wee bit of work for that day. Very good, I thought.

Tuesday, the paper mail came early, and included the results of all the x-rays: unwelcome news. Many more tests (and lots of research) will ensue, but it’s a condition that has affected my knees ‘significantly’ (that much, I already knew; they simply don’t work) and wrists and ankles as well, but less so.

I had (and have had) little time to reflect on that; I loaded up the car and headed for Michigan City for the two-day install, and had a fantastic time.  The folks at the Lubeznik are absolutely wonderful, and I loved working in the two galleries; they just seemed to be made for my work. On the first day, I installed 69 copies of (S)Edition in their very own ‘shroom room, the perfectly-shaped Robert Saxton gallery, which appropriately was the building’s former library. It has a long bank of windows facing Lake Michigan and the west, and I loved the natural light so much, I didn’t want any artificial lights.  Fortunately, the lighting system had dimmers, so I compromised on very low electric light.  As the sun prepares to set, its soft golden light filters through the moving trees. The whole space becomes hushed, contemplative, forest-like. I love it.

I also had a blast visiting old friend and mentor Suzanne and her husband Rick, artists both, at their lovely home; we went to dinner and took a sweet cool barefoot sunset-into- twilight walk on the beach, where I was completely enchanted by a wee tiny Chicago skyline on the horizon.

Wednesday, up early and off to install this complete (so far) body of work in the Brincka / Cross gallery, a fantastic space of odd angles with a big domed circular skylight at its center. Even if it had been a plain white box, I would have been honored to be exhibiting here because I knew Bill Brincka when I was a grad student, and had met his partner Basil Cross during a long-ago visit to their  handbuilt house and the sublime sculptural gardens they built together as a total environment.  It’s now becoming a public park as they desired. (I have a Brincka hosta, one of the many plant species he propagated, in my own garden). As it is, though, the space reflects their spirit, their sense of totality in environment.  I hope my work contributes to that…I think it does.

Friend Jean Bevier was working in the gorgeous, huge Hindeman gallery downstairs, building a hilarious piece in honor of the region for the fabulous Text Messages show. (Completed, below; detail at bottom of post. It’s made entirely of glossy-enamel-dipped cherry bombs. Fireworks are legal in Indiana and not in Illinois, so as soon as you leave Chicago for vacation on the lake, you run a gamut of huge explosive outlets.). I got to have great fun periodically visiting her, and some of my favourite of earlier pieces of hers are in the show as well.  Check out the one at the link!

Still, I finished in time to document extensively and get back into Chicago before rush hour came on in too much earnest, only suffering through a few freeway parking lot situations. I downloaded all my photos of the show, deleted them from the camera and edited them, and then opened the proposal I had almost finished on Monday. Suddenly, my computer froze.  I couldn’t restart it so I shut it down…and that was that; it never reopened.

Thursday, I tried one more time to boot up the computer. Nope.  Off to the Mac store with dead computer, external hard drive, and OS disks.  Dead hard drive. Stupidly, I hadn’t backed up since January. Three hundred dollars and five hours later, I had a new hard drive and battery, but I lost all this years’ data, and, due to a major glitch in restoring iPhoto…ALL my teaching slideshows!  We did – after hours of anxiety on my part – manage to recover the photo library through January, so I’ll be able to rebuild them (mostly). I kept the dead hard drive, and will try a data recovery service if I can afford it.  If not, I’m facing a at least a week of recovering files by e-mail, rebuilding my calendar, my slide shows, and more visits to the Mac store to resolve other problems, all added to re-doing the admin I had done before moving on to the admin I had scheduled to finish. Needless to say, the proposal didn’t happen. Sheesh. I’ve discovered another perk of blogging anyways…at least I have some record here, and some of the photos of work made at Penland, though not full-sized. If you’re like me, you won’t listen, but: back up; back up now.

An embroidered by Karin Vance Chickadel in Text Messages. I’ve always loved this work, and it was good to see it again.

Thursday night, we were just north of an enormous, baseball-sized hailstorm that severely damaged one of Chicago’s treasures, one of my absolute favorite places in the city, the Garfield Park Conservatory: read about it, view a video, and if you can, please contribute.

Friday morning, follow-up calls to medical doctors with Paul interpreting. He had made plans months ago,  before knowing I had a show opening, so he took off for those.  I planned to arrive at the Lubeznik early to re-shoot all the photos I’d lost, and left even earlier as a precaution, because it was the beginning of the fourth of July weekend…but not early enough.  It took over three and a half hours to travel 49 miles, and I arrived half an hour late to a hugely crowded opening in full swing. In spite of my traffic-stupefied state at the beginning, it was a three hour blast!  Great fun, new folks, delightfully unexpected old friends, happy, tired staff and artists and a few interviewers, too. Then back on the freeway and, thankfully, home with only minimal traffic. So, I’ll have to go back out to properly document, but that will be a pleasure; so is beginning today’s total relaxation by throwing all these words, and some of the photos I was able to take, at you. Happy fireworks weekend, fellow US of A folks. I’ll be spending part of it comforting a terrified Lupe dog.

5 thoughts on “Roller Coaster Ride

  1. I’ll eat some chocolate too, and maybe have a wee dram or two, while I back up *my* hard drive.

    In checking, I notice that I last did it March 25, 2011, but have cranked out a lot of things since then that I really do want to keep, as well as documenting the half-labyrinth. (Gack! I had forgotten about all of those pictures not being backed-up.)

  2. we ate chocolate, handmade sauce via susan and kevin, on vanilla ice cream. and we spoke of many things, including you. aimee showed me a binder’s trick or two from you.

  3. Serious bummer about the computer crash and data loss. I back up once a week, but even so last week my backup decided to fail every time tried so now I can’t backup.

  4. Thanks for the vicarious chocolate, you three.

    I’m trying to go through the photos to rebuild folders to re-make slideshows while comforting an extremely frightened dog, and thinking a lot about what data means to us all now…

Leave a Reply

