Cheese Balls

aprogress

I like where this Vermont experiment is going now but there’s more to be done.

I’m not sure how well blogging is going to go during this six months.  My loose plans were to spend a week on one of our much-needed house projects, and then a week in the studio, then another house project, studio, etc.  I’m keeping in mind another quote from Annie Dillard: “There are all kinds of ways to live. You can take your choice. You can keep a tidy house, and when St. Peter asks you what you did with your life, you can say, ‘I kept a tidy house, I made my own cheese balls.”

astair

To the paper studio as well as my current house project; the lower stairs are functional but the upper ones go nowhere, have no outlet on either floor.

I’m not so much going for tidiness for its own sake, but I do (badly) need to increase this building’s functionality and efficiency as a live-work space.  Our place is a wee bit over 100 years old and contains many structural oddities, like this stairway to nowhere from a previous owner’s interior re-build.  I’m into my first improvement project (one which will facilitate all the others) for which I budgeted three days, thinking that was a generous time frame.  Nope. That’s something I should’ve been able to predict from the considerable amount we already have done; there’s always something ridiculous hidden behind wallpaper or tile.  Then it becomes necessary to either rip out and rebuild, or figure out how to work around the existing cheese ball construction.  House projects are always well worth it when they’re done, but are not blog-worthy, just time-consuming.  Poignantly, this particular effort is taking place right next to my paper studio, where dogbane, abaca and a slew of exploratory-things-in-progress are waiting for me.  But I’m off to buy shims, brackets and bolts, and hoping when I get back and put them to use, I won’t uncover something else, at least not till the next project!  If the blog occasionally goes silent from now till July, you’ll know I’ve probably run across another cheese ball.

5 thoughts on “Cheese Balls

  1. Every time I get involved with one of those sorts of “home improvement” projects, I also end up with a bunch of *stuff*, a new skill or two, and an idea for turning those into another art project. That’s not necessarily a bad thing either. 😉

  2. i remember that quote! but all i’ll be able to say is that i kept a tidy house b/c i’m not even capable of the cheese balls! good luck, not only in the doing, but in the maintenance of patience.

  3. i applaud you for doing the renovations, when i should probably say do work do work! making the house more livable is grand. but i never do it. never. but i was once hired to make cheese balls.

  4. Ummmm, love the top ear. Can you hear me? And the stairs from nowhere to nowhere, probably Heisenbergian with a dead or not-dead or both-dead-and-not-dead cat in there waiting for cosmic catnip.

    Project details may not be boring even if the reader doesn’t understand the procedure because there’s poetry in the process.

Leave a Reply

