Hopping, happily

atreespring

Busy! Things are hopping here, but I have two bits of news:

I love being on islands and in the mountains, and summer 2013 will bring both.  In fact, I’ll be island-hopping, sort-of: in June, I’ll be traveling directly from the residency at Haystack on Deer Isle down to Martha’s Vineyard, where the wonderful Sandy Bernat of Seastone Papers has invited me to debut a brand new class I’ve been thinking of for awhile. I’m excited!

Anita!

It’s lovely to have a nice wee studio, even better when shared with friends who smile like Anita Garza.

Also, I’m honored to be the latest entry in Susan Mills’ excellent Bookbinding Now podcast series; Meredith R. Winer, the founder and director of the innovative Transit residency program visited to interview me a wee while ago; we had a fine time, which I hope resulted in something interesting. I can’t hear podcasts, but I’ve been told only good things about the series.  And of course I’m pleased to be joining Velma, Aimee, Peter and so many others.

Anitabaca

Some of Anita’s 90-minute abaca for her project, after 18 hours in the stack dryer.

And finally, I’m back in the studio, while Chicago struggles to bring forth spring.

Aspring13

2 thoughts on “Hopping, happily

  1. ALL of these things are so spectacular!!! esp the island hopping. will be so gorgeous! you will LOVE sandy’s studio. it’s great to see anita at the vat again!

  2. flowers flowers flowers!!!!!
    huge congratulations on the island things. and i know that working with YOU made the huge smile happen for anita!

Leave a Reply

