Another autumn beginning.

beginragdale

Books begun in August; I don’t know if I will work on them here or just let them look out on the late-autumn colors; they looked lovely in yesterday’s sunlight.

I hit Ragdale on Monday a very, very tired person.  That evening, one returning resident said she almost started weeping when she turned onto Green Bay road. I so understand that. For me there was the lifting of tension I didn’t even know was there, deeper breath, lighter shoulders. Now, I’m in that rare, blessed, calmly excited state. It’s blissful to be here with this clean slate, even though I realized today that my time in residence is four weeks, not five. No matter: any time spent here is purely, simply vital.

misty1

The prairie was misty today, the sky soft and pearly as tonight’s rain approached.

There’s already an intriguing test piece made and drying; I’m staying in the Barnhouse tonight to write this, do a wee bit more research, and above all, avoid the temptation to mess with it. I was so intent on the making that I completely forgot to photograph it in progress, which made me realize: I finally am no longer thinking like a teacher first, an artist second.  Yes, I’m truly back.

privatecolor

Long-lens shot across the prairie and into private property; in the manicured areas of Lake Forest, the colors are still brilliant, blazing through the mist.

Here’s a bit of today’s long prairie walk, before the making began.

mistylines

The wilder prairie and woods colors are more muted now

misty2

and linear

canopy

or not.

milkpod

The seedpods I left are open, and doing their job. Some of these wafted away seconds later.

OldOne

I have visited this old one for years; it’s nearly three feet across now, and probably soon to leave us, having completed its job.

greenbare

Sometime the fall seems confused; here both bare and still green;

greenandnot

but a bend in the path, and it suddenly returns.

bittersweet

This, I will harvest (and much more of it).

morevine

These are bad photos. But, perhaps because I was attuned to vines to harvest, I noticed many more of these young corkscrews in several new locations

vineonvine

and a bit of poetic justice, a vine on vine alteration.

Happy Halloween / Samhain!  For me, it’s also the beginning of the new year. I could not ask for a better start.

One thought on “Another autumn beginning.

Leave a Reply

