Quiet fireworks

4th1

This is how it was in the studio all this week, beginning with some storms that scrubbed the air clean and soft, and made the light in my upstairs studio equally so.  This week, I did – finally – experience the Productive Balance that I have wanted for the year, and it was blissful.

4thPup

It wasn’t a 100% balance, which is never to be expected, but it was mighty fine (the imbalance centered around the kitchen sink). But there was daily dog training. Chance is now mature enough to patiently (if a little dejectedly) lie outside the studio or office to watch, while paperwork caught up to the new plan in our lives between studio sessions, the switch nicely dictated by drying times. And there was time for shared meals, the occasional evening pack walk, daily maintenance of all kinds.

Yet, I was able to get lost in the studio, in the work, in the music of color, the dance of the dyes into the paper. I made a series of five of these pieces at Ragdale last fall, and they have been hanging where I could see and think about them daily.

4th2

Now the piece is done and documented and the digital paperwork is totally caught up and celebrating with tonight’s fireworks awaits.  There’s a little Italian community nearby that does an impressive display I can see easily from my front porch. Tomorrow, a day for the garden while fiber cooks for two and half more weeks that I hope will go much like this.

Fittingly, just as I finished the piece, something else generated at Ragdale arrived by actual mail. I am loving the (colorful) cover of the Spoon River Poetry Review, and am looking forward to reading, particularly with the breadth of focus on the poetics of emplacement that is one of the publication’s hallmarks. Editor Kristin Hotelling Zona chose the image after an excellent conversation about just that in the Meadow studio last year.

SRPR

For now, it’s quite interesting for me to experience this work transformed in format. The scale of the image is very close to the actual size of the piece, which I just handled a lot while packing to ship. The cool smooth texture is not what my fingers expect…which I am enjoying.

 

 

One thought on “Quiet fireworks

  1. there is something in me that wants to be walking around in that lichenous landscape, i guess i’ll have to shrink. and i just love that cover! a bit of balance is delicious.

Leave a Reply

