Midweek Equilibrium

 

aaaamulb1

A bit of that lovely ‘fat’ mulberry bark harvested last fall, to sculpt with…

Working away on the next show and loving it, loving the techniques and materials I’m using, loving being in the studio and knowing that it is My Primary Job to be in the studio right now. And still: that balance. Delicious!

aaamulb

…and I even got a good bit of this year’s crop trimmed, though my neighbor inadvertently cut down all the growth from one tree; I’d forgotten to tell him I wanted it.  Fortunately, it was a small one.

In between, during drying times or times I’ve simply needed to sit for a bit, I amazed myself by working on…web site updates. I am either re-developing some efficiency, or have been thoroughly re-trained to sit quietly and type, cut & paste by all the digital paperwork of the past few months. In any case, besides messing about with the home page, I now have the Project Journal for The Monitors up-to-date and published, and only three MakerCentric updates to go before the entire site is completely current. Shocking! However, finishing the journal made me want to make more ear-fungi too (I have plans for them), so we’ll see.

aaaacook

The new ‘no dogs’ cooking station (Chance does actually respect fences as boundaries, ever since knocking this former kitchen gate down and scaring himself mightily. He doesn’t even challenge the flimsy green plastic ones around the garden. This one is anchored more sturdily than it looks.

Out in the world, I am SO excited about this! HUGE congrats to the Eastern Paper Studio, and huge props to Aimee and the Morgan and David and the funders for pushing this through.  I so hope I get to use it this summer in Aimee’s class: fingers crossed!

aaaamazingtail

A fantastic tail, still being written.

Last but not least: hooray for Chance, who went through his first fourth of July quite calmly (whew).  Now, if I could only elicit that stoicism from him in the presence of squirrels…

2 thoughts on “Midweek Equilibrium

  1. thanks for the shout out! and you will, no matter what, see the beater in action even if you don’t take the class. SO DELIGHTED by your studio time and your dog-free cooking station. looking at your new home page calmed me mightily. something so grounded about your work, helps me breathe.

  2. a quiet and delicious post, and your website looks terrific. i love that chance learned about fences. i had a doberman who learned the don’t steal food lesson perfectly, but in the process learned that mouse traps (which i had set along the counter edge to scare her) were things to obliterate-or they’d GET her. she never took food again, but any visible mousetrap was courageously attacked. i love dog thinking!

Leave a Reply

