In-Between Time

I’m loving this sort-of suspended stage between winter holidays, though, as I’ve been learning, this will always also be my most intense time of missing the Bro, not painfully, but poignantly. I’m thinking of some new year-end celebrations to try on for size.

PrairieStatePreview

I had a great time installing at Prairie State (here is the guide for the show), and a wonderful warm time with the family the next day (where long-held traditions are now beginning to shift as lives evolve, as well.) Our December 24 and 25 were warm, quiet, nice and very, very well-fed: we shopped together and cooked up a storm.

Blahgdahgs

Boxing Day was a welcome gift: a sunny, 48F day to spend in the gardens. I was able to do several things I thought I’d sacrificed by extending the Ragdale residency (not that there was any contest.) My little urban ecosystem is now ready for winter, and I’ve seeded milkweed, cleome, fennel, dill, nigella and lunaria (reserving some milkweed to start indoors too.) The 27th was drizzly and my first day to just totally relax; yesterday I again spent outdoors, though it was much colder, wrapping up the last bits of garden work.

Blahgcrane

I may have lost several plants during the reinstallation of a fence that blew down on Halloween. And, when I came home from Ragdale for Thanksgiving, I discovered a leak in the ceiling. After assessments and estimates and holidays, materials arrived today by a huge mobile crane; tomorrow and Wednesday, we’re getting a new main roof. My task will be to keep Chance calm while alien beings swarm over the heavens of his secure indoor world.  I plan to keep him with me while I work in the basement studio, unpacking from the residency and setting up for the winter.  He likes it there; so much to sniff. I’m not sure what (if anything) the roofing job will do to the house gardens (also just seeded) but we’ll be ready for spring revelations with a cozy roof to winter under first. I’m looking forward to that: a three-month span of projects planned, most at my own pace.

Blahgcrane3

Today was the day of 1,000 cranes. OK, well, three; before this retrieval truck there were the big city tree-trimming crews with their own cranes and shredder for the big stuff. Chance is deathly afraid of large machines, but he did OK in my office while I wrote this blog about nothing, really.)

2 thoughts on “In-Between Time

  1. melissa, you and chance would hate the ginormous machines that systematically remove the forest. i have new roof envy, how easy it is to get things like that arranged in a city. the installation is lovely. at the blog i have a photo of tiny lichen i found at the new place, and thought of you. (one british soldier amongst many others).

Leave a Reply

