Zip Zip ZIA

aaziawindo

Just a quick check-in. It’s been a zippy-busy week, so I have had very little media time. The ZIA show opens this evening; I had a bit of a preview yesterday when I dropped off an older piece (there was room for it after all) and it looks wonderful. Anne Hughes has such a facility with space. I particularly liked how she presented the new series.

aajoomchidetailJoomchi always makes me happy.

I closed out the pre-show studio marathon last weekend with my kind of celebration: joomchi! In this case, it became text-pages for a new book. The book was bound Monday, then all the work was packed, loaded, delivered and unpacked Tuesday, and I got an excellent soon-to-be-warm-weather haircut. Wednesday was paperwork paperwork paperwork and a return to twice-weekly hospital p/t sessions. Thursday I began addressing a whole huge load of things that fell by the wayside during show prep, Friday another session with the physical therapist, errands, and the drop off at ZIA. More soon; things will calm down a bit after today.

aajoomchi2

I used the very last of the ‘bad’ hanji sheets, which for me are the ‘best’ sheets. I love the sheet-formation anomalies, and what the joomchi process does with those.  Now, I’ll have to make do with decently-formed sheets, until I can make my own ‘bad’ ones.

Out in the non-ZIA world, the MCBA has sent out a flyer for The Contained Narrative show that opened on April 8, and they have published a (very) full list of artists in the show, and work categories. Book As Environment / Environment As Book not only suits (S)Edition well, it’s a category I’m very happy to see. (click to enlarge)

MCBA_ContainedNarrative_opening-1

3 thoughts on “Zip Zip ZIA

  1. so excited about all of this!! wish i could see both shows in person. also very pro “bad” hanji and know lots of other people feel the same way.

Leave a Reply

